REGULAR MEETING

The Board of Directors of the Edgewood-Colesburg Community School District met in regular session in the Edgewood Board Room, Edgewood, Iowa, on Monday, December 16, 2013. President Randall Mescher called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

Directors present on roll call: Kenneth Faust, Jason Jones, Randall Mescher, Doug Moser, and Robert Schilling.

Also present: Superintendent Rob Busch, Secondary Principal Dawn Voss, Elementary Principal Paul Wenger, and Board Secretary Martha Romig.

Visitors: Pam Ostwinkle, Mike Lutgen, Judi Simon, Linda Tegeler, Pat Krapfl, Jess Wessels, and Megan Bonert.

President Mescher welcomed the visitors.

Director Moser moved to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried 5-0.

Director Jones moved to approve the following items on the consent agenda.

- 1. Minutes of the November 18th and 25th meetings.
- 2. Financial reports and expenditures.

Motion carried 5-0.

Communications:

Director Faust moved to recognize staff at Welterlen Ford for Drive 4 UR School and the athletic Booster Club for the work and support of the weight room.

Principal Wenger: Last Thursday, December 12^{th,} the elementary had another successful music concert.

Superintendent Busch: Received the planning grant for Teacher Leadership Compensation and will continue the process of applying. Currently completing the Clarity (Bright Bytes) online survey of students, families and staff about technology and use in the district. Survey will close December 20th. Received notification from the classified staff that they wish to begin negotiations the later part of January. The following students have been chosen for honor band: Maddison Barnhart (8th grade) and Maureen Dolan (11th grade) will attend the NEIBA Honor Band Festival on December 7th in Oelwein; on Saturday, January 18th Kelsi Newman, Jenna Ries, and Katie Snook will attend the Marion Honor Band; and on Monday, January 20th Haley Meyer, Maureen Dolan, Emily Vorwald, Jordan Kuehl, and Becca Schiffman

will at the UIC Conference Honor Band in Sumner. Windstream and the Iowa Communications Network have finally completed their end to speed up the internet service at the elementary.

Director Schilling: Awesome elementary music concert.

Director Mescher: Have received word the classified staff would like to start negotiations on January 20th or 27th. Excellent keynote speakers at the Iowa School Board Convention.

New Business:

High School teachers, Mike Lutgen, Pam Ostwinkle, and Judi Simon along with elementary teachers, Linda Tegeler, Megan Bonert, Jess Wessels and Pat Krapfl shared with the board the progress their groups are making in their Professional Learning Community (PLC) groups.

Director Jones moved not to offer Board Policy 407-6 Voluntary Early Retirement for Licensed Personnel for this school year. Motion carried 5-0.

Tabled any action with the Rural School Advocacy Group.

Director Jones moved to authorize President Randall Mescher to cast the vote for a three-year term to IASB Board of Directors. Motion carried 5-0.

Director Faust moved to approve the website hosting agreement with SOCS in the amount of \$2,495.00 per year with e-rate to be applied. Motion carried 5-0.

First reading of the following Board Policies was duly noted.

501.1	Resident Students
501.2	Non-Resident Students
501.3	Compulsory Attendance
501.4	Entrance-Admissions
501.5	Student Transfer In from Non-Accredited Settings
501.6	Student Transfer In
501.7	Student Transfer Out or Withdrawals
501.8	Student Attendance Records
501.9	Student Absences-Excused
501.10	Truancy
501.11	Student Release During School Hours
501.12	Pregnant Students
501.13	Students of Legal Age
501.14	Open Enrollment Transfers-Procedures as a Sending District
501.15	Open Enrollment Transfers-Procedures as a Receiving District

501.16 Homeless Children and Youth

Director Schilling moved to allow the dance performance show to be held on Sunday, February 16, 2014. Motion carried 5-0.

Tabled closed session to discuss purchasing real estate.

With no further business to come before the board for consideration at that time, Director Jones moves to adjourn the meeting at 7:16 p.m.

Martha Romig, Secretary Randall Mescher, President